A Trip to Sinhgad Fort!!

Posted: June 19, 2010 by Shishir Gupta in Adventure, India, Just For Fun
Tags: , , , , ,

The Sinhgad Fort

Well today I went for a trip to Sinhgad fort, along with a group of friends and I must say it was the most enjoyable trip for quite some time. For the start this plan was made in a few seconds but also was much planned, and of course had a lot of confusion attached to it. I know it sounds very odd, but it has been made in such a way. It all started on Monday evening when I and Vishal, were returning home. It was raining heavily, and we thought it could be great if we could have some tea and snacks (Bhajji as we call it). But we could not find it anywhere, and suddenly I said that it is the best time to visit Sinhgad. And within seconds we decided to go there on the weekend.

That's Vishal, Raman, Umesh, Me, and Aman

From the next day I got down to plan the trip. I and Vishal were confirmed, I called Aman and he too confirmed. I then asked Mihir, Raman, Bhadre, Sachin, Joshi, Umesh, and Najim. Has they all joined we would have had a count of 10. But Mihir as every week had planned to go home this weekend as well (I really don’t know why does he go home every weekend). Bhadre had a very important commitment and so could not join. Sachin too had a prior commitment. Apart from this Umesh too said he could not join. And with this we had a count of 6, which was decent, but now the problem in front of us was we did not have enough vehicles. In fact we all even thought of postponing the event for a day, so that we could arrange the vehicles by then. Then as I said lot of confusion followed, Joshi and Najim said no (I really doubted and was surprised when they had said yes), Umesh agreed to join. So we had a count of 5 and I decided to take my car so that all can go comfortably. We decided to leave for Sinhgad at 5 a.m. on Saturday. With everything decided we started planning the other details for the trip. But to a shock on Friday Vishal said that he was not sure if he would be able to join on Saturday. Now everything again for a toss, but luckily by the end of the day he said he was available, and the trip was on. So we all decided to meet up at 5-5.30 a.m. the next day.

That's Vishal, Umesh, Aman, Me, and Raman

Well the only problem I felt that was my getting up that early. But again to my surprise, I got up well in time (something I still cannot believe), in fact I was the first amongst everyone to get up. So after picking everyone up by 6 a.m. we started our trip (Me, Aman, Umesh, Vishal, and Raman). The road to fort was amazing, and since the fort is on the hill top, I always knew the drive was going to be great. But it was not just great it was spectacular, there were clouds all on the road, and the fog was very dense, one can say almost zero visibility (I never expected it be so beautiful at all). The more the environment got better (fog got denser), the driving got even more difficult. It had driven in such a terrain before but that was on my bike. With the car it was first encounter with such driving conditions. In fact at one place, I felt as if a Heavy vehicle was in front of me, but it was not moving. And when I came at striking distance to it I realised it was a board at the end of the road, in fact I needed to take a U-turn there. We all had a great laugh at this incident, but somewhere beneath my heart I knew, that since I was very careful we were all safe, had I been a little careless that could have been the last journey for all of us.

The Zero Visibilty

Driving out of the Clouds

We all enjoyed the trip up to the fort stopping at many places clicking pictures of the beautiful scenery around. Finally we reached the fort around 7.30.  After that we climbed up the fort visiting almost all the corners of the fort. Captured as many  pictures as we could, and the weather also helped us a lot in it. There were clouds and fog all around and we had a great time trekking and roaming around the fort. Vishal had been to the place here a few times in the recent past, so he took us around all round the fort for some good sight seeing. Had he and Umesh not been there I can definitely say we could not enjoy even half the of what we did up there. One of the most memorable moments up there was when we saw a crab and Vishal picked it up. Finally after roaming around for almost 2 hours, we all decided to have some snacks and tea (remember this was why we planned to trip). This is the place where I one of the most expensive teas, almost thrice its regular price. After this we all planned to visit the Panshet Dam. In the meanwhile to a very pleasant surprise, Bhadre called up and asked if he could join, to which we all very happily asked him to do. It was past 10 a.m. and yet there was no sign of sunlight. In fact there were still clouds and fog around. It gave a feel as if the time was still somewhere around 5-6 a.m. After this we all left for the Dam, Bhadre had to reach that place directly and we all had to meet at Panshet. When we reached there, we tried finding him a lot but were unsuccessful. Then tired we thought of relaxing for sometime in resort nearby. Again to our surprise, Bhadre was waiting for us in that very resort. We all sat for a long time there to have lunch and a long chat.

After sometime, we decided to head back home, but decided to stop at the Khadakwasla Dam as well which would fall on our way back home. While leaving for the first time we saw the sunlight that day. We all headed towards Khadakwasla, and reached there around 1 p.m. We all went down to the lake, and entered the lake to have some fun. Though most of us wanted to have a swim but since the water was not that clean we decided to avoid it. Finally at around 2 we all decided that it was high to get back home. On the way back I, Umesh and Vishal (the bloggers) also discussed about writing a post on this trip. Finally we all reached our homes sometime around 3-3.30.

Now we all have already started planning trips to Lonavala and Mahabaleshwar in coming months. In the end of the day I am writing this post, just thinking of the most memorable trip. I am really tried writing this but when I start thinking of the time I spent a few hours back, I somehow get refreshed all over again. I can remember everything, the drive, the pictures, and the scenery, almost everything. I guess that the only thing that went wrong on the day was that we had planned to come back by noon, and since we got delayed Umesh had to miss one of his important exams. Apart from this everything was perfect on the day, especially the weather. It did not rain, but yes it was exactly the way we all were hoping it to be, cloudy, with a lot of fog around. In fact it was much better than we were expecting.

I already have started thinking of the next trip. In fact I am going on a ten day trip to the eastern most part of the country (the states of Nagaland and Tripura) next week. I will be joining my family there, and I am already planning to have a trek to the eastern Himalayas there (Arunachal Pradesh and Meghalaya). I will probably write about that trip once I get back. Till then I will probably just try and relive the moments I spent during the day today.

I have uploaded the rest of the images on Picasa for everyone to view. And as I had said before, Vishal has written about the history and many other features of the fort. Here is that article.

<!–[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 false false false EN-IN X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 <![endif]–><!–[if gte mso 9]> <![endif]–> <!–[endif]–>

Well today I went for a trip to Sinhgad fort, along with a group of friends and I must say it was the most enjoyable trip for quite some time. For the start this plan was made in a few seconds but also was much planned, and of course had a lot of confusion attached to it. I know it sounds very odd, but it has been made in such a way. It all started on Monday evening when I and Vishal, were returning home. It was raining heavily, and we thought it could be great if we could have some tea and snacks (Bhajji as we call it). But we could not find it anywhere, and suddenly I said that it is the best time to visit Sinhgad. And within seconds we decided to go there on the weekend.

From the next day I got down to plan the trip. I and Vishal were confirmed, I called Aman and he too confirmed. I then asked Mihir, Raman, Bhadre, Sachin, Joshi, Umesh, and Najim. Has they all joined we would have had a count of 10. But Mihir as every week had planned to go home this weekend as well (I really don’t know why does he go home every weekend). Bhadre had a very important commitment and so could not join. Sachin too had a prior commitment. Apart from this Umesh too said he could not join. And with this we had a count of 6, which was decent, but now the problem in front of us was we did not have enough vehicles. In fact we all even thought of postponing the event for a day, so that we could arrange the vehicles by then. Then as I said lot of confusion followed, Joshi and Najim said no (I really doubted and was surprised when they had said yes), Umesh agreed to join. So we had a count of 5 and I decided to take my car so that all can go comfortably. We decided to leave for Sinhgad at 5 a.m. on Saturday. With everything decided we started planning the other details for the trip. But to a shock on Friday Vishal said that he was not sure if he would be able to join on Saturday. Now everything again for a toss, but luckily by the end of the day he said he was available, and the trip was on. So we all decided to meet up at 5-5.30 a.m. the next day.

Well the only problem I felt that was my getting up that early. But again to my surprise, I got up well in time (something I still cannot believe), in fact I was the first amongst everyone to get up. So after picking everyone up by 6 a.m. we started our trip (Me, Aman, Umesh, Vishal, and Raman). The road to fort was amazing, and since the fort is on the hill top, I always knew the drive was going to be great. But it was not just great it was spectacular, there were clouds all on the road, and the fog was very dense, one can say almost zero visibility (I never expected it be so beautiful at all). The more the environment got better (fog got denser), the driving got even more difficult. It had driven in such a terrain before but that was on my bike. With the car it was first encounter with such driving conditions. In fact at one place, I felt as if a Heavy vehicle was in front of me, but it was not moving. And when I came at striking distance to it I realised it was a board at the end of the road, in fact I needed to take a U-turn there. We all had a great laugh at this incident, but somewhere beneath my heart I knew, that since I was very careful we were all safe, had I been a little careless that could have been the last journey for all of us.

We all enjoyed the trip up to the fort stopping at many places clicking pictures of the beautiful scenery around. Finally we reached the fort around 7.30.  After that we climbed up the fort visiting almost all the corners of the fort. Captured as many pictures as we could, and the weather also helped us a lot in it. There were clouds and fog all around and we had a great time trekking and roaming around the fort. One of the most memorable moments up there was when we saw a crab and Vishal picked it up. Finally after roaming around for almost 2 hours, we all decided to have some snacks and tea (remember this was why we planned to trip). This is the place where I one of the most expensive teas, almost thrice its regular price. After this we all planned to visit the Panshet Dam. In the meanwhile to a very pleasant surprise, Bhadre called up and asked if he could join, to which we all very happily asked him to do. It was past 10 a.m. and yet there was no sign of sunlight. In fact there were still clouds and fog around. It gave a feel as if the time was still somewhere around 5-6 a.m. After this we all left for the Dam, Bhadre had to reach that place directly and we all had to meet at Panshet. When we reached there, we tried finding him a lot but were unsuccessful. Then tired we thought of relaxing for sometime in resort nearby. Again to our surprise, Bhadre was waiting for us in that very resort. We all sat for a long time there to have lunch and a long chat.

After sometime, we decided to head back home, but decided to stop at the Khadakwasla Dam as well which would fall on our way back home. While leaving for the first time we saw the sunlight that day. We all headed towards Khadakwasla, and reached there around 1 p.m. We all went down to the lake, and entered the lake to have some fun. Though most of us wanted to have a swim but since the water was not that clean we decided to avoid it. Finally at around 2 we all decided that it was high to get back home. On the way back I, Umesh and Vishal (the bloggers) also discussed about writing a post on this trip. Finally we all reached our homes sometime around 3-3.30.

Now we all have already started planning trips to Lonavala and Mahabaleshwar in coming months. In the end of the day I am writing this post, just thinking of the most memorable trip. I am really tried writing this but when I start thinking of the time I spent a few hours back, I somehow get refreshed all over again. I can remember everything, the drive, the pictures, and the scenery, almost everything.

I already have started thinking of the next trip. In fact I am going on a ten day trip to the eastern most part of the country (the states of Nagaland and Tripura) next week. I will be joining my family there, and I am already planning to have a trek to the eastern Himalayas there (Arunachal Pradesh and Meghalaya). I will probably write about that trip once I get back. Till then I will probably just try and relive the moments I spent during the day today.

 

Comments
  1. […] rainy season and especially in the early morning to add great moments to your experience. Here are some beautiful PICTURES of Sinhgad and my TRIP EXPERIENCE that will definitely inspire you to visit this place.  For more pictures of my trip and Sinhgad, […]

  2. P says:

    Beautiful……………………………. 🙂

  3. umesh says:

    Very nice Post !
    Whole Sinhagad trip is relived after reading this post. Photos are awesome.

Leave a Reply

