Finally used the Gmail Video Chat!

Posted: September 3, 2010 by Shishir Gupta in Computer Articles, Google, Just For Fun, Technologies
Tags: , , , , ,

Though this video feature is not a new one in Gmail, in fact if I remember it correctly it is almost one and a half two years old. But this is the first time I have used the feature. Though it is not the first time I am using a video chat. I have used it a several times on Skype. I used to use it regularly to chat almost for three years a couple of years back (amazingly during the times when we did not have the fast broadband internet, and also during the times when laptops were not very common, to use Skype one had to install a webcam, and yes it was not easy). Though for the past few months or almost a year I have been using Skype in office for client calls. In fact it was my client to insist on having the status meeting on Skype rather than over a phone call. With all this all what I want to say is that I am neither new to video chatting nor is this feature new in Gmail, so why I am suddenly writing about this now.

Well this is because this is the first time I have used this feature on Gmail, and to honest I am very much impressed. I liked the overall performance, especially because it does not add any load on the internet, since it only uses the Gmail (I meant no extra load for video is applied on the internet service). Also, one does not need to create a separate account; download and install separate software, also always log onto the software every time. Since Gmail is one of the most popular mailing applications, it is easier to find friends over here rather than on Skype or any other application.

Now coming onto the technical perspective. I agree that the video quality is not as good as the one of Skype, but it is not bad either. It is good enough for a single person to talk. Also as I have written earlier the performance (I mean the voice quality, the audio quality) is very good, comparable to Skype, or I can say even better. So overall I would rate this feature as a good one, and also recommend others to use this, especially the ones who have not used Skype so far and want to use the video chatting facility.

I now feel why is it that I have not used this feature for such a long time. This is maybe because I have not used the video chat feature for personal use for almost two years now. But I wish I could have used this earlier as well. But as they say “Better late than never”.

In the end again I would recommend others to use this feature of Gmail, as it is really good, or I can say more than good, it is really more comfortable.

Comments
  1. wow I realistically such as your current webpage maintain to keep measure active in the truth I definitely ought to pop in numerous another decade to read by means of a number of approach more belief.

  2. arvind says:

    hi all every body

  3. Carol Chipley says:

    I value you taking the time to publish this publish. It continues to be very helpful to me certainly. Value it.

Leave a Reply

